Senate Bill 415: Elections Moving from Odd to Even Years


Why don’t I see my jurisdiction on the ballot?

San Mateo County’s election landscape is changing. Most scheduled local elections will no longer occur in odd-numbered years beginning in 2017. Senate Bill No. 415 (SB 415), also known as the California Voter Participation Rights Act, mandates jurisdictions with odd-year elections to move to even-year elections by November 2022 if voter turnout falls below a threshold established by law. The new law aims to increase voter participation and lower costs in local elections since even-numbered year elections have higher voter turnout.

Many jurisdictions in San Mateo County have already chosen to move elections that would have occurred in 2017 forward to 2018. Other jurisdictions have scheduled their move to a later date and will still hold their regularly scheduled odd-year elections in 2017. Below is a chart of all jurisdictions with regularly scheduled even-year elections, including those that will move to an even-year cycle at a later date.

City of Belmont City of Brisbane (starting in 2020) City of Burlingame (starting in 2022)
City of Daly City City of East Palo Alto City of Foster City
City of Half Moon Bay City of Menlo Park City of Millbrae
City of Pacifica City of Redwood City City of San Bruno (starting in 2020)
City of San Carlos City of San Mateo (Starting 2020) City of South San Francisco
County of San Mateo Town of Atherton Town of Colma
Town of Hillsborough Town of Portola Valley Town of Woodside
School District
Bayshore Elementary School District Belmont-Redwood Shores School District Brisbane Elementary School District
Burlingame School District (starting in 2020) Cabrillo Unified School District Hillsborough City School District
Jefferson Elementary School District Jefferson Union High School District La Honda-Pescadero Unified School District
Las Lomitas Elementary School District Menlo Park City Elementary School District Millbrae School District
Pacifica School District Portola Valley Elementary School District (starting in 2020) Ravenswood City School District
Redwood City School District San Bruno Park Elementary School District San Carlos Elementary School District (starting in 2022)
San Mateo County Community College District San Mateo County Office of Education San Mateo Union High School District
San Mateo-Foster City School District (starting in 2020) Sequoia Union High School District South San Francisco Unified School District
Woodside Elementary School District    
Special District
Bayshore Sanitary District Broadmoor Police District Coastside County Water District
Coastside Fire Protection District Colma Fire Protection District East Palo Alto Sanitary District (Starting 2020)
Granada Community Services District Highlands Recreation District (starting in 2020) Ladera Recreation District
Menlo Park Fire Protection District Midcoast Community Council Midpeninsula Regional Open Space Wards 5,6,7
Mid-Peninsula Water District Montara Water & Sanitary District North Coast Water District
Peninsula Health Care District Pescadero Municipal Advisory Council San Mateo County Harbor District
Sequoia Healthcare District West Bay Sanitary District Westborough Water District