Members: Benjamin McMillan Bill Hershon Craig McCulloh Fred Nisen Michael Levinson Randall Jones Wilhelmina Riley



Mark Church Chief Elections Officer 40 Tower Road San Mateo, CA 94402 650.312.5222 P 650.312.5348 F registrar@smcare.org www.shapethefuture.org

## San Mateo County www Voting Accessibility Advisory Committee (VAAC)

## **Meeting Agenda**

June 15, 2017, 10:30 A.M. – 12:00 P.M. 555 County Center Plaza, 3<sup>rd</sup> Floor Redwood City, CA

- I. Introductions and Announcements (5 minutes) a. Guests / Applicants
- II. Review & Approve Meeting Minutes from April 13, 2017 (5 minutes)
- III. Applicant Recommendation's for Membership to Mr. Church (10 minutes)
  - a. Fred Nisen, Disability Rights CA
  - b. Bill Hershon, Disability Rights CA
  - c. Ben McMullan, Center for Independence San Mateo
- IV. Elections Staff Report (15 minutes)
  - a. Update on 2017 Elections
    - i. June 6 Mail Ballot Election Town of Atherton (4,900 Voters)
    - ii. November 2017 Election UDEL (Uniform District Election Law, consolidates municipal, school and special district elections)
    - iii. Budget allocations for the VAAC (J.Irizarry)
    - iv. Meeting with VCC (Future of California Elections Project), regarding SB 450
- V. Review VAAC Charter, Subcommittee Report (10 minutes)
- VI. Voter Accessibility Video (15 Minutes)
- VII. VAAC Letter to Board of Supervisors (10 minutes)
- VIII. Summary of Action Items for Next Meeting (5 minutes)